Pizza with Artichokes and Pecorino

Pizza time again. This time its a take on a Martha Stewart living recipe for a whole-wheat pizza with artichokes and pecorino. Pecorino is a cheese, Pecorino Romano, for those who might not know (like myself). And if you’re one of those people that requires tomato sauce, you best move on to something else. Although the recipe includes tomatoes, its not of the sauce variety.

4 steamed artichokes
1 tablespoon(s) fresh lemon juice
1 tablespoon(s) olive oil, plus more for baking sheet
1 pound(s) whole-wheat pizza dough
1 cup(s) fresh ricotta cheese
2 plum tomatoes, thinly sliced crosswise
1/4 cup(s) pitted Kalamata olives, halved
3 ounce(s) Pecorino Romano cheese, shaved with a vegetable peeler
1/4 cup(s) fresh basil leaves

Use a paring knife to trim away all of the artichokes’ fibrous leaves and chokes so only the hearts remain. Slice the hearts thinly crosswise. In a small bowl, toss artichoke hearts with lemon juice.

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Lightly oil a baking sheet. Stretch dough on prepared sheet and brush with oil, making sure to coat edges well. Scatter spoonfuls of ricotta over dough. Top with tomatoes, artichokes, olives, and 3/4 of the Pecorino. Season with salt and pepper.

Bake pizza until browned, 20 to 25 minutes. Top cooked pizza with basil and reserved Pecorino.

I don’t mess with steaming artichokes. Not that I couldn’t, but it seems like a bit too much for something that’s will only end up as a pizza topping. Instead, I use half a can (6 to 7 oz) of quartered artichoke hearts. For tomatoes I use two Romas or three Camparis. The first time I made this I used the original Boboli pizza crust, but the second time I went with the Boboli wheat. I do believe the wheat goes better with this mixture of ingredients… or I could be fooling myself.

Although its a bit pricey… at least at HT… you definitely should go with the Pecorino Romano. Good cheese is like fresh herbs; a world of difference. Here’s the assemblage before hitting the oven:

I cook all my pizzas at 425º regardless of what the recipe states. This one will take about 3 additional minutes of oven time, putting it at around 15 minutes. Here’s the result:

Quite tasty and on the slate for dinner tonight.

p.s. Thanks to whomever passed this recipe on to me. I’d credit you, but I can’t recall.

~ by Genevieve on 2010.04.11.

Leave a Reply

 
