Music of 2009 – The Songs

In my last post about the music of 2009 I’m featuring some of the year’s best songs. There are few bands here for which I know very little (Beach Fossil for one), but no matter.  A good song is a good song.  The list is alphabetical by artist, followed by album/EP/single (if known) and then the song title.

Apostle of Hustle – Eats DarknessBlackberry
Asobi Seksu – TransperenceTransperence
Beach Fossil – WoodsistTime
Best Coast – When I’m With You – When I’m With You
Camera Obscura – My Maudlin Career – Honey in the Sun
Digital Leather – Warm Brother – Photo Lie
Fungi Girls – Seafaring PyramidsCrystal Roads
Girls – AlbumLust For Life
Lightning Dust – Infinite LightI Knew
Little Dragon – Machine DreamsBlinking Pigs
Maps – Turning the MindLove Will Come
Maria Taylor – LadyluckCartoons and Forever Plans
Norah Jones – The FallStuck
O+S – O+SWe Do What We Want To
Phantogram – Phantogram EPWhen I’m Small
St. Vincent – ActorThe Strangers
The Drums – Summertime! – Let’s Go Surfing
The Horrors – Primary ColoursSea Within a Sea
The Swell Season – Strict Joy – The Verb
The Understudies – Flicknives
Titus Andronicus – The Airing of GrievancesUpon Viewing Brueghel’s “Landscape With the Fall of Icarus”
Yo La Tengo – Popular SongsPeriodically Double or Triple
Zero 7 – Yeah GhostEverything Up (Zizou)

I hope I have the release years correct. Sometimes its heard to determine since teaser songs are released weeks, if not months, ahead of the actual full release. Do I want to say anything else?  Hmm…

I found it interesting that Michael Stipe turns up on the Maria Taylor song.

If you haven’t seen Titus Andronicus live, you’re missing something. I first saw them open for Los Campesions! and I was blown away for a band that was an opening act.

Asobi Seksu was disappointing live.

Sea within a Sea from the Horrors has the same opening drum beat as Can’s Mother Sky. That may have something to do with why I love this song and picked their album as the best of 2009.

I’m ready to see Phantogram again.

I don’t think I’ll ever get to see Zero 7.

Okay, I admit it. Norah Jones is damned cute with short hair.

The director’s cut of Girls Lust for Life is NSFW (if you can find it).

I’m still blown away by St. Vincent’s first performance at Local 506. Annie is cute too. Swoon.

Play Crystal Roads by the Fungi Girls LOUDLY and OFTEN.

~ by Genevieve on 2010.01.22.

Leave a Reply

 
