Eggplant and olive pizza

Its pizza night. What does everyone want? Pepperoni! Sausage! Hamburger! Eggplant! What?!? Not me. No way. Not on my pizza.

I suspect most people would not consider eggplant for pizza, but after you try this recipe you may change your mind. The recipe is from Smitten Kitchen, which is simply one of the best cooking blogs I know.  If you’re not following SK, you should be.

1 garlic clove, minced
1/3 cup extra-virgin olive oil
1 1/4 pound eggplant, cut into 3/4-inch-thick rounds
1 pound store-bought pizza or homemade pizza dough at room temperature
5 ounces sliced provolone, cut into short thin matchsticks (1 1/4 cups)
Handful pitted green olives, coarsely chopped (1/3 cup)
1/4 cup chopped flat-leaf parsley

To make this pizza in the oven: You can either fry or roast the eggplant slices, brushed with garlic oil, until tender. Prepare the pizza as you would any other, rolling or stretching out the dough, mounding on the toppings and sliding it onto a baking sheet or pizza stone in an oven that has been preheated to its top temperature. It will be ready in about 10 minutes.

Makes 4 hearty dinner servings, or 9 appetizer-size portions.

For the eggplant, follow the steps I outlined in my post on roasting eggplant. The garlic I sprinkle over the pizza vs. mixing it with the olive oil for preping the eggplant (choice is yours). For the crust, as usual, I go with a Boboli. I buy the provolone in a pre-sliced package. I’ve found that three slices is enough. In my first attempt I used four slices and the cheese overwhelmed the other flavors. I’ve yet to add the parsley because I never seem to have any on hand when this pizza is made. And don’t forget the light coating of olive oil for the crust (it adds crunch).

Assembly is olive oil, eggplant, garlic, olives, parsley (if you have it) and cheese.

If it hasn’t dawned on you yet, there is no tomato sauce here — the eggplant is the sauce.

Since the toppings are much more substantial compared to Mozzarella, Anchovy, Chile, Caper and Parsley pizza, cooking time will be a wee bit longer. Instead of 10-12 minutes, expect 12 to 14 minutes.

p.s. apologies for the blurred image at beginning, but it was late and was starving.

~ by Genevieve on 2010.01.18.

Leave a Reply

 
