Music of 2009 – The Top Tier

Here’s my list of the top tier releases for 2009.  The order here is alphabetic, but if I were forced to chose, my favorite it would be The Horrors’ Primary Colours.

Bat for Lashes Two Suns
Camera Obscura My Maudlin Career
Cotton Jones Paranoid Cocoon
Fever Ray Fever Ray
Fungi Girls Seafaring Pyramids
Here We Go Magic Here We Go Magic
Imogen Heap Ellipse
Lightning Dust Infinite Light
Maps Turning The Mind
Moby Wait For Me
Norah Jones The Fall
Phantogram Phantogram EP
The Acorn Heron Act
The Dodos Time To Die
The Horrors Primary Colours
The Postmarks Memoirs At The End Of The World
The Swell Season Strict Joy

Some may complain that the Acron’s Heron Act is really just a collection of live performances from the previous release Glory Hope Mountain, but I don’t care. Its that good.  And others might complain that the Phantogram release was only a 4 song EP.  I don’t care about that either.  Go see them live and see if you don’t agree that they are deserving.

Wait for Me is Moby’s best album since Play.

The Dodos Time for Die reminds me of XTC in all the good ways.

The Postmarks… what a wonderful album… are my biggest regret for the year. They played in Raleigh and I didn’t learn about it until the next day.

Those who wouldn’t give Norah Jones the time of day should give The Fall a listen.  Its not the same as her prior work and its really, really, really hard not to appreciate her voice. She’s cute as heck too (and yes, I have gotten over her new hair style).

The Fungi Girls gave their album away with hopes that fans would be the vinyl version (or least that was what I read).  If they are still giving it away, grab it, then go see them live.  Buy lots of merch for delivering such a wonder.

I saw Here We Go Magic twice last year and would have gladly gone back for more.

I saw half of a Cotton Jones performance because I reversed the band order for a show (first time I’ve ever done that)… and I was running late.  Missed they’re next performance but made up for it by sending them a Christmas card.

I should stop now because I’m ready to make adjustments to my choices, moving some releases down and some releases up. That’s the problem with such lists because they are all based on my mood… and mood dictates what I listen to.  Ask me tomorrow… hell, ask me in an hour… and I’d give you a slightly different result.

The best advice I can give you is listen before you buy, buy what you like and go see the artists you appreciate.

~ by Genevieve on 2010.01.17.

Leave a Reply

 
