Music of 2009 – The Incompletes

Before I publish my top tier choices of 2009 I want to cover a group I’ve labeled “incompletes”.  These are the releases where I managed to pick up one or two songs, but have yet to purchase the album/CD/download.  There’s a lot of promise here… maybe even some releases that might make the top tier… but my music budget is slim and I can only purchase so much.

Bear in Heaven Beast Rest Forth Mouth
Bishop Allen Grrr…
Eels Hombre Lobo
Handsome Furs Face Control
Headlights Wildlife
Little Dragon Machine Dreams
O+S O+S
Roofwalkers Roofwalkers
Seeland Tomorrow Today
Thao With the Get Down Stay Down Know Better Learn Faster
The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart
Thieves Like Us Play Music
Uninhabitable Mansions Nature Is A Taker
Vivian Girls Everything Goes Wrong
Will Straton No Wonder

There’s some solid music here.  I saw a few of these bands… Little Dragon, Thao, The Pains of Being Pure at Heart, Vivian Girls… but to be fair I can’t judge a complete release from one artist against a couple of songs of another. I’m treating all of these as “buys” and you should too.

~ by Genevieve on 2010.01.10.

Leave a Reply

 
