Mozzarella, Anchovy, Chile, Caper and Parsley Pizza

Note to photographer (me): Turn all the jar labels towards the camera. Ugh.

I’ve made a half-dozen or so pizzas and by far, this one has the best taste.  If you read through the recipe you won’t find an abundance of toppings, but that’s okay. Its the combination of tastes that makes it an absolute winner.

4 canned anchovy fillets
1/2 of a fresh red chile pepper, seeded and thinly sliced
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1 teaspoon finely shredded lemon peel
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 teaspoon capers, rinsed
3 tablespoons tomato sauce
3 ounces mozzarella cheese, torn into small pieces
1 tablespoon sliced fresh flat-leaf parsley
Sea salt
Freshly ground black pepper

1. Preheat oven to 45O°F. Transfer the pizza crust on the foil to a baking sheet.

2. Cut the anchovy fillets in half lengthwise and add to a small bowl. Add the sliced chile pepper. Feel free to use as much or as little as youlike. Add the olive oil, lemon peel, lemon juice, and capers; mix up. Let the anchovies sit in the marinade for 15 minutes.

3. Smear the tomato sauce evenly over the pizza crust. Scatter pieces of mozzarella over the top. Evenly lay on the anchovy fillets, scatter with the chile pepper and capers, and sprinkle with the parsley, salt, and pepper. Drizzle with 1 tablespoon of the leftover marinating oil.

4. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes or until the crust is crisp and golden. Makes 2 servings.

Source:  c/o Melinda. Originally excerpted from Jamie’s Italy by Jamie Oliver. Copyright 2006 Jamie Oliver.

Before I dive into assemblage, let me say a word about utensils.  There are three tools that I think are essential, two specially for pizza making and one for cooking in general. Push-come-to-shove you can live without them, but I wouldn’t recommend them if I didn’t think they were beneficial.

One is a pizza stone.

A pizza stone “is a flat stone or piece of ceramic or earthenware used to evenly distribute oven heat to pizzas or other baked goods” (per Wikipedia).  I can’t testify for baking a pizza without one because I have never done so.  A cookie sheet might suffice, but I recommend you get the stone (Amazon has one for less than $40).  Mine is well-seasoned as you can see by the olive oil slick that nicely coats the surface.

The next tool is the a zester.

Zest is the skin of a lemon or a lime.  Short of scraping it off with your nails, I can’t offer you a good alternative.  Maybe a fine cheese grater, but I can see blood in that attempt.

The last tool is the pizza cutter.  A big wheel pizza cutter can make quick work of slicing a pizza (or anything else that happens to get in the way).  Obviously, you could use a knife to do the same thing, but it will be much harder and probably leave you with a mess.  I would go with kitchen scissors if you don’t have a pizza cutter.

Back to the recipe…  for crust I recommend Boboli.  I’ve tried the Pillsbury dough crusts and after the second or third one it finally dawned on me that their pizza dough is the same as their biscuit dough, only in a different package. After that, I couldn’t eat another one.  Blah.

For tomato sauce I’ve been using Barilla’s marinara. Rocky has been pushing for me to try the Roa sauces, saying I’ll never buy anything else.  The price scares me (almost twice that of Barilla), but Rocky knows his s#@$ when it comes to cooking so it looks like a jar is in my future.

The only substitution I make is a minor one for mozzarella.  I go for a low-fat version. If you want to do this right, get the mozzarella packaged in a plastic container, with little balls of cheese floating in liquid.  Those are usually found in the gourmet cheese section of the grocery store.  It definitely offers a better taste.

One thing you should always do with a pizza crust is give it a light coating of extra-virgin olive oil (for crispiness).  If you have a basting brush, use it. If not, drizzle the oil over the pizza and spread it around with your fingers. Be sure to cover the outer edge.

Since I’m using a block of mozzarella, I cube it instead of tearing into pieces.  Here’s the assembled pizza just before it to goes into the oven.

The recipe says 450º, but I go with 425º. The time us usually closer to 12 minutes than 10.

Before I finish, let me make one more adjustment.  The recipe states that it makes 2 servings.  I’ve never found that it makes more than one.

~ by Genevieve on 2010.01.10.

2 Responses to “Mozzarella, Anchovy, Chile, Caper and Parsley Pizza”

  1. […] the toppings are much more substantial compared to Mozzarella, Anchovy, Chile, Caper and Parsley pizza, cooking time will be a wee bit longer. Instead of 10-12 minutes, expect 12 to 14 […]

  2. […] myself). And if you’re one of those people that requires tomato sauce, you best move on to something else. Although the recipe includes tomatoes, its not of the sauce […]

Leave a Reply

 
