Music of 2009 – The Disappointments

This year I’m starting at the bottom and working my way up.  Today, I present the releases that I’m labeling as disappointments:

Air – Love 2
Stars of Track and Field – A Time For Lions
Throw Me The Statue – Creaturesque
U2 – No Line On The Horizon
Wilco – The Album

I’ve seen Wilco’s The Album in some of the best of 2009 lists, but it didn’t happen for me. I’m not saying its bad, but more that it didn’t hit my expectations (not that I can explain to you what those were). There are some good songs, but nothing that really made go “oh, wow”.

Air’s Pocket Symphony (the prior release) set the bar too high and the guys couldn’t hit it again. It’s an uneven work lacking a single, memorable song and may be their weakest release to date. The same can be said for Throw Me The Stature. Their Moonbeams release was so utterly charming, but Creaturesque was just flat and… repeating myself… had no memorable songs.

U2. Been a fan from the early days. Have tons of vinyl, lots of CDs and many MP3s. However, I do not have this release nor do I have plans to purchase it. I couldn’t make it through listening to the initial single (the name escapes me). It was.. and I hate to write this… terrible. This was suppose to be a re-birth release, but to this U2 fan it laid an egg.

The biggest disappointment for the year for me was Stars of Track and Field. I absolutely loved their prior two releases and their two live shows (Local 506 and Cat’s Cradle). However, I had to force myself to listen to A Time For Lions. Its way, way way too main stream and for whatever reason reminds me of the Phil Collins’ Sussudio years (disaster).

The middle-of-the-road selections will show up in a few days.

~ by Genevieve on 2010.01.03.

Leave a Reply

 
