Olafur Arnalds

This is a musical tangent for me that takes me back to the years I swore off all but Classical music (the early 90’s).

Icelandic artist Ólafur Arnalds‘ upcoming release Found Songs dabbles in the Classical world and may for all intensive purposes might be consider a Classical work.  But, it does have have electronic underpinnings so I’m hesitant to classify it totally to the symphonic world.

I’m really out of my element here in trying to offer something off comparison. It doesn’t fit in the Philip Glass mold… not quite the spectrum of Ulirch Schnauss… or even Sigur Rós, for whom he has been an opener.  Maybe somewhere in between all three of those is where Ólafur lies, but I do know that I like it and have repeatedly played since it landed in inbox.

So if you need something a little different… something out of your normal musical fare… give Found Songs a listen.  No suit and tie required.

~ by Genevieve on 2009.11.15.

Leave a Reply

 
