Here We Go Magic-al Grizzly Bear

This was a show where if you had asked, I could not have told who I wanted to see more.

Here We Go Magic opened and quite frankly impressed the hell out of me.  They were good back in March, but this time they nailed it.  Even the audience was into it, which is somewhat of a rarity for an opening act.  I think they played about 8 to 10 songs, covering material from their self-titled release.  I really hope they come back this way again. PLEASE.

This was third Grizzly Bear show and each has had its own charm (I still favor the first show at Local 506, mainly because the vocals were so dead-on perfect and just the intimacy of the club). Covering songs from both Veckatimest (their latest) and Yellow House, the set was a dozen songs and a one song encore.  I loved it. My only regret… and its only a potential one… is that they will forgo playing clubs of this size. I hope that’s not the case, but if it is I’ll have a couple of great shows in my memory.

Pictures here and here.

~ by Genevieve on 2009.06.14.

Leave a Reply

 
