Music of 2008

If I don’t get this done now, it most likely will not get done at all, so onward with my hurried and hacked take on music from 2008.

Based on my iTunes library I come up with 108 2008 albums (CDs for the tots) and I feel pretty confident that I have overlooked some (unfortunately).  I should really date songs to make this job much easier, but then I would need to remember to do that and I don’t see it happening.

In what plays into the theory that the album format is dying, I find that I don’t have the many complete albums. I have cherry picked in a lot of cases and looking back I regret it.  I suspect I missed some gems, but I guess that will always be the case.

Anyway, this is going to be kind-of hit-n-miss.  So here goes.  In the strong category are (alphabetical):

The Acorn – Glory Hope Mountain
The Acorn – Heron Act
Dark Captain, Light Captain – Miracle Kicker
Elbow –The Seldom Seen Kid
Juliette Commagere – Queens Die Proudly
Mono in VCF – Mono in VCF
M83 – Saturdays=Youth
Plants and Animals – Parc Avenue
School of Seven Bells – Alpinisms
Windor For The Derby – How We Lost

In the solid category are:

The Chap – Mega Breakfast
Distrails – Virginia Creeper
Frightened Rabbit – The Midnight Organ Fight
Los Campesinos! – Hold on Now, Youngster…
Mobius Band – Love Will Reign Supreme
Shearwater – Rook (see three times and they’
Throw Me The Statue – Moonbeams

In the category of incompletes; incompletes meaning I only have a couple of songs (but really want them all) are:

Arms – Kids Aflame
Bell – EP
Chairlift – Does You Inspire You
Headlights – Some Racing, Some Stopping
Kaki King – Dreaming of Revenge
Los Campesinos! – We Are Beautiful, We Are Doomed
Minisnap – Bounce Around
Point Juncture WA – Heart to Elk
The Rosebuds – Life Like
Vivian Girls – Vivian Girls

Song of the year goes to Jean on Jean for Tonight. Other great songs that may or may not be covered in the above:

Bell – Echinacea
Crysal Stilts – Crystal Stilts
Hello, Seahorse! – Won’t Say Anything
The Jealous Girlfriends – Something in the Water
Jem – On Top Of The World
Jessica Lea Mayfield – Kiss Me Again
Juliana Hatfield – Shining On
Lightspeed Champion – Dry Lips
Maps Of Norway – The Run-Out
+/- – Snowblind
The Raveonettes – Dead Sound
REM – Supernatural Superserious
Ringo Deathstar – Sweet Girl
Sexy Kids – Sisters Are Forever
The Submarines – The Wake Up Song
Surf City – Headin’ Inside

Ask me tomorrow and I might give you a different list.  That’s how wishy-washy I am on things such as this.  Mood dictates what I listen to and right now this list matches my mood. Andas they say, that is that.

~ by Genevieve on 2009.02.22.

Leave a Reply

 
