Bfest

I went to the grocery store this afternoon and returned quite disgusted. Products keep going up in price, but quantities keep going down. And its not always obvious. Last week I bought what I though was a deal on Kashi bars. I thought I was getting 6 bars (at least 5) in a box, but it turned out to be 4. And then when I opened one of the bars, there was a inch less of bar. The wrapper was plenty big for the old bar, as was the box, but its just a lot smaller. Its almost to the point I have to eat two bars to get the volume I previously received in one. Attention Kashi: I am now shopping for another brand of bars.

Next up were whole wheat, soft taco shells. What had been 10 to a pack are now 8 (with no price difference). On the laundry detergent aisle, I found that my normal bottle is now much smaller but as with everything else the price is either higher or the same.

This is not quite false advertising, but neither is it quite ethical. Gone are a days of “new larger size for the same low cost”. Now its “half the quantity for twice price and mum’s the word”.

I think it goes without saying that I’m pretty much buying every store brand in site.

On another note, I think we can comfortable say that other than Cal Ripken, the last 10-20 years of baseball players and records have all been steroid-based frauds. Baseball has known it from day one, but has done everything it can to squash any news of it. Frankly, I think they should fire the entire lot and wipe the record books clean… but it won’t happen. The A-frauds will continue and so will their game because their is too much money involved to do anything else.

~ by Genevieve on 2009.02.07.

2 Responses to “Bfest”

  1. I love how you can’t say the actual b word…

  2. Hey, I saved 4 keystrokes and you still knew exactly what I meant. What more do you want?

Leave a Reply

 
