Distrails and Jessica Lea Mayfield

You’ve got to like a free show.  It even had a good turnout, which given that it was between semesters and following on the heels of Christmas, was a bit unexpected.  However, this was a crowd of vampires.  No one, other than myself, would step into the lights near the stage.  There was a good 10 to 15 feet between the stage and the crowd (which is just weird to me).

Anyway, Distrails opened.  A two person band from Winston-Salem featuring Jared Draughon on guitar and Bitsy Pina on keyboards.  Not real sure how to describe their sound.  Indie, yes. folk? Well, I would say no.  Some definite Classical play on keyboards.  Maybe a bit like Lewis and Clark, but that’s about as close as I can get.  Maybe “understated” is the correct word.  I don’t know, but it was good.

It’s hard to believe Jessica Lea Mayfield is only 19.  She has such an amazing voice and for whatever reason, its just not something I expect when I look at her.  Kiss Me Again is the song that hooked me (much like Hold On, Hold On from Neko Case) and is one everyone should give a listen.  Jessica had three musicians backing her up — David Mayfield on bass, a guitar player who’s name I missed and Ann ? on drums (I’m so terrible with names).  She played less than a dozen songs including one solo song performed mid-set.  She’ll be back again at the end of January at the Cat’s Cradle (and I’ll be there again). Definitely recommended.

Pictures here.

~ by Genevieve on 2008.12.30.

One Response to “Distrails and Jessica Lea Mayfield”

  1. […] Lea Mayfield My second Jessica show in little over a month.  Musically, this one was better but from an enjoyment standpoint I liked it less. This was not […]

Leave a Reply

 
