And so it begins

And so it begins.  Tis the season for the top ten lists and alas, the best CDs of the year.  I guess it  starts with the Crappy nominations (Grammies), but today Sound Opinions (SO) kicked things off with their lists.  SO chose Nick Cave’s Dig!!! Lazarus Dig!!! as their number one.  While I respect that choice… and Nick Cave… it wouldn’t even make my list.  Frankly, if I have more than a dozen CDs from either of their lists (50 on Jim’s list and 20 on Greg’s) I would be surprised.  But, I digress.

If I read the calendar correctly, there are 18 days left in 2008.  Why are we talking about the best of 2008 now?  I bitch about this every year, but it will always fall on deaf ears.  End-of-the-year lists have become too much of a marketing ploy and thus too hard to restrain.  To me, you shouldn’t see a list before February 1.

Pity the poor artist who has a December release.  You really get screwed.  If you have a great CD do get included on the 2008 list (doubtful) or do you have to wait until 2009 when there is a srong chance you will be forgotton (and on to your next release).

Oh, well.

Like everyone  else, I will be offering my own. But not before January 1, 2009.

~ by Genevieve on 2008.12.13.

Leave a Reply

 
