Kaki King and the Mountain Goats

I really didn’t know what to expect from this show. I had no reference for Kaki, Ihave one combo song between Kaki and the Mountain Goats and I have the last MGs CD (which is excellent).  I thought this would be a good one, but it turned out to be a great one.

Kaki has some incredible and unique guitar talents.  I was quite amazed.  I would guess she played about 7 to 8 songs before giving way to the MGs.  This was a little bit of everything from indie to expermental, but all of it was good.

I lost track of the number of songs the Mountain Goats played.  Some were with the band and some were by John solo.  Then Kaki returned and subsequently so did Peter and Jon.  There were two, well-deserved encores and if the crowd had been a little more rambunctious I think we might have got a third.

The show was a sellout, but what amazed me was that no one left until it was over.  I’ve been to many shows that were sellouts, but after the main set people start trickling out.  Not here.  People stayed, listened and enjoyed.

Pictures here.

~ by Genevieve on 2008.11.08.

Leave a Reply

 
