The Wedding Present

Not an actual present, but the band.  A band I knew nothing about until Julie dragged Jay and I off to Local 506 last Sunday evening.

It was a good-sized crowd… my second in-a-row for 506… and somewhat of a rarity.  The Jealous Girlfriends opened. This is the second time I’ve seen them at 506 (last time was with Sea Wolf). There were new songs this time… or at least new to me… and the songs I do remember (and know) were much tighter.  They’ve definitely improved as a band.  Good stuff.

As for the Wedding Present, they were great.  It’s hard to believe that I have never heard at least one song by the band… or even the name of the band.  They had a set list of twenty songs (see blurry photo on FB), which you think would make for a long show, but it was over before I knew it.  They don’t do encores, which I’ve previously stated just don’t work at 506, so that was just fine.

The unexpected highlight of the evening was the roadie for the Wedding Present, who made me swoon (for Julie it was her cool boots discovered in the vast expanse of her closet).  The unexpected lowlight was discovering Carrburrito is closed on Sundays.

Pictures here.

~ by Genevieve on 2008.10.17.

Leave a Reply

 
