Mr. Gnome and The Ettes

This was no show (Local 506) for those looking for pop tunes.  Mr. Gnome is some intense rock… somewhere between… Siouxsie and the Banshees, Sonic Youth… and I’m not sure what else… maybe the Meat Puppets?  For only two musicians they do an excellent job driving their music home.  Frankly, I don’t know that I’ve seen anyone hit the drums any harder than Sam Meister. And I just loved Nicole’s voice… honestly I loved everything about her.  Should have bought the d@#$ CD, but I’ll grab it off of iTunes.

The Ettes certainly didn’t let down the intensity too much… maybe just took it in a different direction.  Poni is certainly not that far from Sam on drums (my god that women can work some drumsticks).  This was more garage rock, sort of in the vein of X. Just good, solid tunes… say maybe a dozen touching on their first and latest CD.  My only disappointment for the lack of an encore (blame the crowd who was just kind of “there” if you know what I mean).

Pictures here.

~ by Genevieve on 2008.09.13.

Leave a Reply

 
