Table 16

I had an unplanned trip to greensboro today, so I did a quick IM to Julie to see if we could do lunch.  She could and we did, including Jay and Bobby. Table 16 was the restaurant.  Its in Greensboro on the edges of the downtown area (corner of Elm Street and W. Lewis).  Julie highly recommended it and I can see (actually taste) why.  Incredible food.

The restaurant is located in one of the renovated buildings (at least I think its renovated) and still retains much of his historic decor.  From where we were seated we had an excellent view of the street and thus people watching (just what was up with the the woman and the truck full of paintings?).

The menu was not extensive, but extensive doesn’t always indicate quality.  I’ll take a small selection of excellent food over an extensive selection of bland food any day.  Since I could not make up my mind what to choose (it all was appealing), I went with the daily special.  That was an oyster soup that was unbeliveable.  I would have licked the bowl if I had been at home.  The entree was scallops with grilled okra and potatoes.  This was equally as good.

Normally, I’m not a desser eater but Julie insisted (threatened was more like it) so we all had one.  I had the chocolate cake(?) ganache with ice cream.  Incredible dessert, especially the ice cream.  I will be having this again.  Can I get a gallon of that ice cream to go?

Although I did choose the wine, I did examine the wine list.  Quite a list… more than you see in most NC restaurants.

Service was excellent…oh, I forgot about the bread.  Yes, there was fresh baked bread. Yum.

I have to say this may be the best restaurant in Greensboro.  If you haven’t been, go. I’m usually hesitant in recommending a restuarant, but not in this case.  I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

~ by Genevieve on 2008.08.22.

Leave a Reply

 
