Gravel Truck and Pylon

I went to my 25th high school reunion Friday night. No, that’s true but it sure seemed that way for a large portion of the crowd at the Gravel Truck / Pylon reunion show at the Werehouse in Winston-Salem.  I almost felt like a gate crasher, but that’s the way it is at a lot of these reunion shows… everyone seems to know everyone else.

This was my first time to the Werehouse and I must say I was quite impressed.  A pretty relaxed place with one hell of a beer selection (thanks for the Bell’s Oberon Ale).

Gravel Truck opened, which was Mitch Easter and friends playing selections from his Let’s Active years.  I haven’t heard some of these songs in ages (I really must rip those vinyl records).  I lost count of the number of songs, but it was less than a dozen.  By all appearances I believe Mitch was enjoying playing this material and I know the crowd certainly enjoyed it.

This was the first time I have heard Pylon, recorded or live.  I knew of the band, but for whatever reason they never crossed my musical path.  That is most certainly something that I need to rectify.  I’d say they are an edgier version of the B-52’s, minus the silliness.  You just have to love the driving drums and guitars. Highly recommended (and worth seeing again).

Note: I took some shots with the camera phone, but none of the pictures are worth posting (everyone looks like colorful blobs).  I REALLY should have taken the digital camera, but I just didn’t feel like keeping up with it.

~ by Genevieve on 2008.08.09.

One Response to “Gravel Truck and Pylon”

  1. Ahhhh, I wish I could’ve gone so badly. Sounds like it was a fun time. I’m the same way about Pylon, though…never heard them, although I’ve heard OF them many times. I’ll take the same initiative and find some of their stuff to add to my collection.

Leave a Reply

 
