post airplane thoughts

While waiting to board the airplane from Dallas to RDU I watched the ticket agent ask two elderly ladies if 1- they were aware that they were on an exit row; and 2- if they would be willing to assist in case of an emergency.  Both ladies nodded in agreement, but the ticket agent repeated it to be sure.  By the look on his face I could tell he knew that if we did have an emergency, neither of these ladies would be of any assistance at all.  They would be an utter hindrance.

After the utterly gross trail mix snack I tried on the flight out, I skipped all food on the return trip.  I did observe the girl beside me ask for the bag of potato chips.  This turned out to be a Pringle-sized can of chips… enough for 4-5 people.  The girl was confused as was I, but this turned out to be how its served.  $3 gets you a whole can.

If you want a choice of foods on the plane (assuming you’re not in first class), you best sit near the front. By time the food/drink cart reaches the last rows, you’re stuck with what’s left (if anything).  They are stocking a bare minimum of foods/drinks these days (and will tell you so).

You never know what you’re going to get when you sit next to a woman holding a small baby.  You’re first thought is “OMG”, but sometimes you can be surprised. I was. The woman across the aisle from me had a little girl that was an absolute angel.  She was actually quieter than some of the others around me, included the gentleman who kept resting his hand on the back of my headrest.  The obnoxious twit.

One of the wost feelings has to be in bagging claim when everyone else is gone with their bags and your left waiting for yours.  This was last night.  I was about to get right irritated… shit, more like paniced… when my bag finally came through flap.

Its really hard to poop in an airplane toilet.  Its made for a hobbit (much like the seats in coach) and makes me feel like I’m pooping in the space shuttle.  I try to avoid it at all costs, but you can’t control nature.

Why is that some airlines require that the window shades be up for take off and landing and other’s don’t give a damn?  US Air treats shades down like a terrorist plot, while American didn’t care one way or the other.

~ by Genevieve on 2008.07.26.

Leave a Reply

 
