Seattle day three

This is the first day of Web Design World.  I would say the attendee number, based on a quick scan of the audience at the keynote, is down.  By how much, hard to guess, but I didn’t expect it to be the same or higher based on the current state of our economy.

The keynote was good and provided the highlight of the day as the presenter said the world “fuck”. It was used in relating an anecdotal story, but it sure got my attention. I’m pretty much counting on someone complaining about being offended, but that’s par for the course these days. You can’t say much of anything without someone taking offense.

The remaining presentations of the day were hit-or-miss, but that’s typical for a conference (Michael Ninness rules!). There was a presentation by Microsquish during lunch on Silverlight, but I blew that off. First, I could care less about Silverlight and second, it was so damn cold in the meeting rooms I had to get out and warm myself up. Thank goodness for boxed lunches (which I prefer at events such as this).

Dinner tonight was Etta’s, which was unbelievably good (but it always is). I was going to have tuna, but it was hard to pass up the salmon (signature dish). Good choice. It was excellent. Add to that the coconut creme pie dessert with a glass of ice wine and you have near perfection.

~ by Genevieve on 2008.07.21.

Leave a Reply

 
