Seattle day one

Surprisingly, there were no delays today for either leg of my trip to Seattle.  The longest wait I had was for baggage claim (about 20 minutes).  After some of the articles I’ve read of late about air travel I was expecting much worse.  Of course, I started early on the East coast and came West.  It will be interesting to see if the same holds true when I go the other way.

This is my first time at the Westin.  The Hilton or one of the Marriotts are the usual haunts.  Not bad so far. The view is pretty good (pictured).  Not quite the view of the water front Marriott, but it will do.

Hit the usual targets today.  First, to the Macrina Bakery & Cafe to pick up some breakfast/munchie food and then a trip to Emmett Watson’s for my traditional first meal of fish and chips and Alaskan Amber Ale. After two beers I made my way through Pike Place market for some fresh fruit (Rainier cherries are a must).

After a return to the hotel it time to trek to Pioneer Square for a visit to the Elliott Bay Book Company. Great bookstore.  The employee recommendations… which are plentiful… are a big plus for this store.  Much more valuable than what you read on book jacket.

After yet another return to the hotel it was a trek in the opposite direction to Easy Street Records.  As Elliott Bay is to books, Easy Street is to music (not to be forgotten is Sonicboom, which I hit tomorrow).  Picked up a couple of CDs and then headed back.

I’m killing time now as I wait to head off to the Triple Door to see Mono in VCF.  More on this tomorrow.

More pictures here.

~ by Genevieve on 2008.07.19.

Leave a Reply

 
