X marks the spot

The Detroit Cobras / X show on Tuesday night at the Cradle was a killer. My god what a great show.  I was never a big X fan in my earlier years, but after this show I have to consider that a major character fault on my part.

The Detroit Cobras opened with what must be a record set of songs. If I counted the set list correctly it was somewhere between 20 to 24 songs.  Of course they are delivered at a breakneck pace, but still that’s a boat load of music… and great music at that.  I’d say they were the ideal opening act for X.  Not too close to the same sound, but not too far either.  Just right.

X.  Exene, John Doe. Billy Zoom. D.J. Bonebreak. AWESOME.  I don’t think there’s anything I can add to that.  They were that good.  31 years?  Pooh.  Made not one damn difference.

I have to say I haven’t seen anyone play bass with as much intensity as John Doe.  I bet the man lost 10 pounds in sweat.  And then there’s Billy Zoom on the other side of the stage just looking so cool… casually walking around and taking in the scenes.

I was sitting on the subwoofer off to the side and one point John Doe was actually standing in front of me so that he was between me and the crowd (sorry I missed that one with the camera).

There were two encores and after the last song Billy Zoom just stepped out into the audience and started shaking hands, signing autographs and posing for pictures (I managed a handshake).  It was like he was greeting family he hadn’t seen in years.

I know its probably too much to ask, but I hope they tour again (pictures here).

~ by Genevieve on 2008.05.29.

3 Responses to “X marks the spot”

  1. Hey Gene! It was great to finally meet you at the X show. Man you had a great view from where you were sitting. What an amazing performance. Every song – top notch! I’ve been an X fan since their second album, Wild Gift, came out but this was the first time I have seen them live.

  2. Great to meet you as well. As to my view, if I’m at the Cradle I’m usually in that spot… not always… but generally that’s where I plop down.

  3. […] After a most excellent dinner Julie and I made our way over to the Cradle to once again see X.  We were mightily impressed the last time they came through and we were mightily impressed this […]

Leave a Reply

 
