Sneakers and the Pressure Boys

This show was something. Greg Humphreys opened, but there so much damn chatter that you could hardly hear him above the noise. That’s the problem when you have these reunion shows. People see friends they haven’t seen in years and all they want to do is reminisce.

Sneakers was up next (pictures). Six guys, three of which I can id: Chris Stamey, Mitch Easter and Will Rigby. First time I’ve seen Mitch play (at least that I can remember). Good guitar player… singing… well… The electric sitar was cool. This was enjoyable, but tough to get into because it was all new material for me. I know Chris and Will from the dB’s and Mitch for Let’s Active, but I have nothing in my collection from Sneakers.

The Pressure Boys were awesome (pictures). It was hard to believe these guys haven’t played together in 20 years. Damn, they were good. If you missed this show (Julie), you should really be regretting it.

In all the shows I’ve been to in the last few years, I’ve never seen a crowd as into a band as this one. Maybe it was the age of the crowd? In my younger days, crowds were more active. Today, they tend to stand around. Maybe its generational?

Anyway, I heard all the songs I wanted to hear except Arm Chair Radical (which I suspect they saved for Saturday night). If gas wasn’t so bloody expensive I would have gone back for Saturday show.

All I can say is I hope they do this again, even if its just a yearly thing.

~ by Genevieve on 2008.05.04.

One Response to “Sneakers and the Pressure Boys”

  1. Thanks for the kind words. We had a blast.

    Greg

Leave a Reply

 
