Road Block

I had a someone submit a Contact Us form today. Seeing that I was the only one in the office and that the person appeared to want a quick answer, I replied with what information I could offer and a promise to forward it to someone who could really answer their questions (I’m just the web guy). After a few minutes I received an email back stating that I had to fill out a form in order for my reply to be accepted. I had to be verified as a human being before my reply would be allowed to grace this person’s inbox.

Now I’ve encountered these roadblocks before… and I hate them… but in the case of a business-to-business conversation it’s utterly stupid. If I had been a potential customer of this business and had decided to contact them, the result would have been a lost sell. Its a turn-off… in a big way. Spam is absolutely a problem, but as a business you should not place throw up a road block between your customers and yourself.

~ by Genevieve on 2008.03.21.

Leave a Reply

 
