There’s more to Scott than Dilbert

I’m a fan of Dilbert. Not a huge fan, but a fan.

I have a lot of respect for what Scott Adams has accomplished with Dilbert, but I have more respect for him from his short novel God’s Debris: A Thought Experiment (which turned out to be my one and only e-book purchase of many years ago). If you haven’t read it, I recommend it. It’s really will make you think (unless you are some brain dead clod).

Along the lines of God’s Debris, Adams posted an interesting tid-bit on his Dilbert blog today. He posed the question of would you vote for a president who had a different religion than your own. I would assume this is true for the snake oil salesman, considering that the Evangelicals are his primary base of support (other than those people who foolishly believe that he could get a Fair Tax past Congress). However, I don’t know about a candidate like Obama. His support appears to be coming from the young voters; voters who are not necessarily focused on any one issue other than having someone new (and potentially untarnished by the Washington i.e. Clinton, McCain, etc.).

In my case, I don’t focus on religion unless the candidates beliefs interfere with my own rational thinking i.e. the snake oil salesman stating that he doesn’t believe in evolution. He would never, ever get my vote (unless we were voting for morons).

~ by Genevieve on 2008.01.08.

Leave a Reply

 
