The Polyphonic Spree

I wasn’t planning to attend this show having seen the Polyphonic Spree back in May, but Julie insisted… and I’m glad she did. It was awesome, but you can expect no less from a Spree show. I’m skipping over the open bands — the first was pretty good, but the second will leave scars on my psyche for years to come — to concentrate on the Spree.

The band assembled on stage behind a red cloth draped across the stage. As the harpist started playing Tim gradually cut a heart-shaped hole in the cloth before revealing the whole band.

You gotta love it when confetti cannons fire and everyone gets covered.

Here the band has swapped theie army uniforms for their robes. These were not the traditional robes, but something more long the lines of what your grandmother would don for bed. Still very cool (and I suspect much easier to clean).

You can also notice that he harpist was positioned out from the stage.

This may be my best shot made attempting to capture the whole band. There are something like 21 or 22 members on stage.

This is actually my fav photo. Its blurry, but I like the lighting effect with Tim’s stance.

There were some great moments and great tunes. They covered McCartney’s Live and Let Die and best of all Lithium by Nirvana. Lithium produced the most animated Cat’s Cradle crowd I have ever seen. They whole place was jumping up and down. They played for almost two hours which included a bonus song at the end.

I said it last time… if they ever come your way go. Its an awesome show.

~ by Genevieve on 2007.11.14.

2 Responses to “The Polyphonic Spree”

  1. Had the opportunity to see the Spree live a little while ago and passed it up out of sheer laziness (it was also a heavy month of gigging and I think they just got pushed to the bottom of the pile). Having seen you pics, however, I think I’m beginning to regret that decision. Looks like they put on an awesome show.

  2. The first time I went I had downloaded one song and knew next to nothing about them. I was pretty much blown away. Everyone should see them at least once in their lifetime.

Leave a Reply

 
