Still Lucky with the Ladybug

The Still Flyin / Lucksmiths / Ladybug Transistor show at the Duke Coffeehouse was quite good and made up for my mixed feelings over the Of Montreal show from the past Friday.

Still Flyin was a complete unknown to me so it was quite surprising when 15 or so people took the stage to play. And then for the music to have a reagee / ska sound was yet another surprise.  From what I could deduce from the banter they’ve been around for while.  Good stuff.  It will definitely get your feet moving.

The Lucksmiths were up next and they’re really the ones I came to see (nothing against the other bands).  I’ve got a couple of their songs and I wanted to see what else they had to offer.  Well worth seeing and you should go if you get a chance.

I’ve seen the Ladybug Transistor three times now and they get tighter as a band each time.  I have to confess I didn’t stay for their whole set, but seeing that I had to get up at 3:15am to leave for the airport, I just couldn’t stay.  As it was I didn’t get to bed until 1:30am (leaving the show about 12:30am).

~ by Genevieve on 2007.10.02.

Leave a Reply

 
