A Windoze Safari? No thank you.

So Apple is doing a version of Safari for Windoze.  I question the rational for the effort, but history has shown that Apple tends to think several moves ahead in the game so maybe this is part of some long term strategy. Now that’s not to say that I’m anti-Apple, because I’m certainly not. In fact, I’m making the switch from Windoze to Mac just as soon as my MacBook Pro arrives (4-6 weeks delivery).

The issue for for me… web designer/programmer… is that this is yet another browser for which I must test/code/hack against for proper rendering.  Currently I’m checking Firefox (Mac/Win), IE 5.5 (I’ll accept reasonably close to legibility) , IE 6 (still the biggest chunk of my visitors), IE 7 and Safari… and I should add the tests for Flash/no Flash support as well.  I need another browser like I need a hole in my head.

Steve, I hope there’s something else behind this move other than delivering a browser to the windoze platform… because its really not helping me make my deadlines.

~ by Genevieve on 2007.06.13.

Leave a Reply

 
