Cleveland

I’ve got to travel to Cleveland in a couple weeks on business. I’m flying in on a Sunday afternoon arriving around six. I’ve spent a good portion of the day putzing with Google Maps, Google Earth and associated review sites trying to find a place for dinner. I could eat in the hotel, the Marriott Downtown at Key Tower, but after spending the afternoon in airports and airplanes I feel like I ought to get out for bit. I’m leaning towards the Blue Point Grille with the Metropolitan Cafe as my second choice (assuming its not raining). The only downside is that I’ll have to swap out my blue jeans, t-shirt and crocs for something a little more upscale (argh).

I’ve asked a well-travelled co-worker for suggestions, but if anyone else has one please let me know. My only requirement is that the restaurant be within walking distance of the hotel… oh, and no chains.

~ by Genevieve on 2007.05.06.

3 Responses to “Cleveland”

  1. It’s a shame you want to go walking distance. There are fabulous restaurants in the area of Tremont such as Farenheit(a short cab ride)

    Are you on the company tab? If you are Johnny’s near the warehouse district (right near blue point)is good.

    Check out the East 4th street area. It’s actually a closer walk than the Warehouse District to your hotel. There’s a House of Blues, Lola (which is probably one of the most gorgeous restaurants in the city),Vivo (another nice restaurant),the Pickwick and Frolic comedy club and restaurant and a really cool bowling alley called The Corner Alley (which is “upscale” has food and a nice bar)

    You could probably get away with the blue jeans @ Pickwick and Frolic.

  2. Thanks for the suggestions.

    This meal will be on the company CC (which
    is one of the benefits of traveling). I read some reviews on Johnny’s, but like a lot of review sites you get extremes… a few 5 stars and then a few 1 stars. When the reviews are at both ends of the spectrum, I consider them useless.

    Vivo was one of my possibles. I’ll see what I google on Lola and Pickwick and Frolic.

    Thanks again.

  3. After conferring with a co-worker who’s been to Cleveland many times, the Blue Point Grille is the choice. I’ve got a reservation so as long as my flight is on time I’m all set.

Leave a Reply

 
