Diet take two

I faint.

Or maybe I should say I have fainted several times. I’ve fainted at the dermatologist. I’ve fainted at the eye doctor. I’ve fainted while someone was trying to draw blood. I’ve come close in movie theaters and I’ve come close in simple conversations (depending on the subject matter).

This didn’t start until college when I fell out one day at the dermatologist. The doctor and an intern were chatting I fell right out into the floor between them. When I came around the doctor said I had Vasovagal Syncope. I didn’t pay much attention to it at the time and quite honestly forgot about it.

Then a couple of years later it happened at the eye doctor. He was about to do the glaucoma test and I fell out in the floor.

More time went by and then one day I was getting a haircut. The lady cutting my hair was discussing some heart problems her brother had endured and I fell out again.

I think you see the pattern. Someone starts talking medical — I faint.  As I have gotten older I have become more susceptible but I have also learned to recognize the symptoms and take appropriate action (like lying down).

I mentioned this to doctor when I went for my physical and he recommended me to an electro-cardiologist (EC).  The EC checked me out this past Friday and said I have Orthostatic Intolerance (along with the Vasovagal Syncope).  Nice combination.

You can read the dirty details through the links, but to cut to the chase I need to change my diet and do a few things when sitting and standing.  The main thing is I’m salt deficient… as in I am not getting enough salt intake.  Being one that never salts foods, this will require some change.  Salt each meal.  Drink Powerade/Gatorade. Snack on pretzels and salty potato chips.  If need be I can take salt tablets (but I would prefer not).

In addition, I need to nix the caffeine so bye-bye to the daily Mt. Dew (insert sad face here).  Staying hydrated is the big thing.  He didn’t mention beer or wine, but I have enough sense to know that they will have be imbibed in moderation (which I already do).

As for the sitting and standing… I need to press my legs together when sitting to help work the flow of blood upward and no standing still… I must move around (which I pretty much do anyway).

This goes o’so well with my cholesterol diet… but hey, I’m better off than a lot people… and honestly I can’t (and shouldn’t) complain.

~ by Genevieve on 2007.01.07.

Leave a Reply

 
