More music of 2006

Here are some more releases for 2006 that were good, but still needed a little something else:

Amy Millan – Honey from the Tombs

Be Your Own Pet – Be Your Own Pet: Four letter words to the point of excess, but otherwise not too bad.

Belle & Sebastian – The Life Pursuit: Just didn’t do it for me like some of their earlier material i.e. If You’re Feeling Sinister and The Boy With The Arab Strap.

Built To Spill – You in Reverse: I loved the song Goin’ Against Your Mind, but I never could quite get into the rest of it.

Dirty On Purpose – Hallelujah Sirens

Eels – Eels With Strings: Live at Town Hall: Get the DVD.

Glen Hansard and Marketa Irglova – The Swell Season: Charming like Emily Haines’ Knives Don’t Have Your Back.

Math and Physics Club – Math and Physics Club: This is good CD, but I’ve never was in the right mood to listen to it.

Nouvelle Vague – Bande a Part: Not near as good as their first CD.

Pete Yorn – Nightcrawler

She Wants Revenge – She Wants Revenge

Silversun Pickups – Carnavas: I think this one disappointed me more than anything else… or maybe that’s not the correct thing to write. I think it was more that I had set my expectations too high. It’s a solid CD, but I liked Pikul better.

Syd Matters – Syd Matters

The Frames – The Cost: This will not see a U.S. release until 2007, but I picked it up from Road Records when it was released in Ireland in late Septemeber. Its good, but its going to take a lot to surpass Burn the Maps.

The Futureheads – News and Tributes: The sophomore CD is so tough to pull off.

The Purrs – The Purrs: This one should almost be omitted as a 2006 release because its a re-release of some previous material, but I liked it… I like the band… and they gave a good show at Local 506.

The Village Green – Feeling the Fall: Some good tracks here, but I’m not sure how I feel about this band as yet.

Zero 7 – The Garden: The only thing that disappoints me about this CD is that is doesn’t flow as well as the first two.  It has some excellent material, but musical styles change too much.

~ by Genevieve on 2006.12.26.

Leave a Reply

 
