How not to do email

Back when I was trying to locate a local copy of the new Silversun Pickups CD, I emailed Schoolkids to see if they had it (there’s a nice little link there that says EmailUs). It took more than a week to get a response and by then I had found it online at Sonic Boom, ordered it, received it and played it multiple times.

That’s a prime example of how not to handle customer service with email. It should take no more than 24 hours to respond. If the question can’t be answered immediately, then at least respond and say you are working on it. If you are small chain, which Schoolkids is at least put up a Out of Office message or something if you are gone.

The message I received stated that it was not in stock but they could order it.  I replied that I already had and thanks… but I should have asked why did it take so long to respond?

p.s. I’m not sure what to make of the CD not being in stock.  I guess the SSUPs are still mostly a West Coast band (for now).

~ by Genevieve on 2006.08.12.

Leave a Reply

 
